I See Stories


I See Slubs
September 30, 2006, 11:32 am
Filed under: mirrors

img_8014.JPGIt occurred to me this morning that it is not stories that I see: I see slubs. Things that seem incongruous, that I can’t quite explain, those are what become stories for me. They really are like those little knots in fabric that come from imperfectly spun threads. Some irregularity in the warp or weft that results in lumps. Life lumps…slubs. Sounds about right.

Weaving those stories into some sort of coherent whole is an altogether different challenge. Is there some sort of theme that evolves that makes individual anecdotes hang together? Those themes just seemed to show themselves to me when I was writing Oh La La.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

